Subscribe to Syndicate

President addresses AGM

The Annual General Meeting of the Library Association of Ireland took place in Dublin City Library and Archive, Perase Street, Dublin 2 on 14th March.

Jane Cantwell, Waterford City Librarian was elected President.

The President thanked the members for nominating her as the new President of the Library Association of Ireland, stating that she hoped to bring energy and enthusiasm to the position, so that as an Association we can help to increase the profile of all the different types of libraries and information services that we work in and really provide relevant and timely support to our members.

President's Address to the AGM

Philip Cohen, Dublin Institute of Technology was elected Vice-President and Mary Stuart, Offaly  County Libraries was elected Vice President. Catherine Gallagher and Yvonne Quigley were re-elected Honorary Treasurer and Honorary Secretary.

The following were elected to the Council of the Association:
Georgina Byrne, South Dublin County Libraries
Jane Cantwell, Waterford City Council Library Service
Philip Cohen, Dublin Institute of Technology
Madelaine Dennison, Houses of the Oireachtas
Bernie Fennell, Louth County Libraries
Fionnuala Hanrahan, Wexford County Libraries
Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Public Libraries
Kate Kelly, RCSI
Gillian Kerins, Institute of Technology Tallaght
Lee Komito, UCD SILS
Pat Lonnergan, Kildare Library and Arts Service
Cathal McCauley, NUI Maynooth
Zoë Melling, Legal Aid Board
Mary Murphy, Meath County Libraries
Emer O'Brien, Tipperary Libraries
Carmel O'Sullivan, UCD
Jessie Shearer-Kurtz, TCD
Mary Stuart, Offaly County Libraries
Kieran Swords, South Dublin County Libraries
Joan Ward, LGMA Library Development